Friday, May 15, 2009

Presidents Swearing in on a Bible

Here's a trivia question for history buffs. How many Presidents of the United States did NOT use a Holy Bible for their searing-in ceremony?

The answer is one. According to the Architect of the Capitol:

"September 4, 1901 -- Theodore Roosevelt
The only President not sworn in on a Bible. Mr. Ansley Wilcox, at whose home Roosevelt took the oath of office, wrote in 1903, 'According to my best recollection no Bible was used, but President Roosevelt was sworn in with uplifted hand.'"

One. In our entire history. One. That means that 43 Presidents have used the Bible for this ceremony. But remember what we're told: this country has no Christian roots.

No comments: